President Steven Dorney
Vice Presidents Peter Homen
Ernest Silva Jr.
Secretary Filomena Lopes
Treasurer Veronica Andrade
Assistant Treasurer Madeline O'Connell




In 1958, optometrist Dr. Irving Fradkin founded Dollars for Scholars in Fall River,Massachusetts ("The Fall River Plan") as a grassroots community effort to provide scholarships for students to continue their education beyond high school.

The original idea is that if everyone in the community gave just a dollar to an educational fund, it would be enough to help nearly every student in the community who wanted to continue education after high school. Based on this community's successful commitment to higher education, Fall River is known as "The Scholarship City."

The Dollars for Scholars concept is simple: Communities raise funds locally for students who are chosen by a panel of local citizens based on academic achievement as well as financial need.

Since its initial establishment and growth, CSF of Fall River Dollars for Scholars® has been an affiliate member in good standing of Scholarship America parent organization of Dollars for Scholars®. This effort has expanded to more than 476 local chapters and is the nation's largest tax-exempt charitable non-profit, (501(c)(3)) private-sector scholarship and educational support organization. Since its founding, Scholarship America has distributed more than $4.2 billion to nearly 2.5 million students across the country through various programs.